(This is Section 5 of the York Minster Itinerary.)
The eastern part of the minster, beyond the screen, was completed in 1472. It was the last part to be built.
The choir is in the Perpendicular style, a later gothic style. (It has stronger vertical lines than the more flamboyant decorated gothic, sometimes seen as a reaction to the Black Death which killed around a third of England’s population in 1348 to 1349.)
The choir (sometimes “quire”) is the area in front of the high altar. The cathedral choir sings here, seated along the side.
Enter the choir from the nave through the screen.
The screen itself is decorated with the carvings of the Kings of England.
Inside the choir there is a statue to King Edwin, who was baptised in the first church on the site in 627.
Behind the high altar is the stained glass great east window, which is about the size of a tennis court, made in 1405-1406. This has recently undergone extensive restoration, over several years. The exhibition in the Undercroft, York Minster Revealed, shows the detail and the condition of the glass before and after the work. The Minster has also prepared a short video about its attempt to improve the visitor experience.
A special tour provides fascinating information about the glass and the restoration techniques used.
To continue the tour of the minster return to the Minster Tour Itinerary (Section 6).