The colour-coded Dordogne

Save to my Account

The Périgord corresponds to the modern Dordogne département.  The name was used prior to the re-organisation of the French Regions and counties during the Revolution.


The culture and history of the Périgord is very much linked to the Oc language used in earlier times by the southern French and the dialect of the area reflects this even now. Moreover, the term Perigordian exists today to describe the architecture and the cuisine of the region.

The Colour Coded Périgord

The region is divided into four distinct parts: the Périgord Noir or Black Perigord; the Périgord Pourpre or Purple Perigord; the Périgord Vert or Green Perigord and Périgord Blanc or White Perigord.

Comments, Tips & Hints


You need to login to favorite a post.

Need to sign up? Create an account here.

Forgot your password? Reset your password here.