The Matisse Museum is housed in a bright red Genoese folly with trompe l’oeil features dating from 1670. The artist himself lived here for a while but the building later fell into a state of disrepair. Fortunately, the City Fathers rescued the building and in 1963 they installed the Musée Matisse on the second floor.
The Authorities later renovated and re-opened this stand out structure. In 1993 the Musée Matisse took over the whole building which houses an impressive collection of the artist’s works which chart his career, from his colourful nudes, photographs, drawings and bronze sculptures to cut-out gouaches.
Moreover, Matisse’s personal belongings have been tastefully left around the Museum. These include his furniture and private art collection and it is almost as if the great man himself will make an appearance at any minute!
Transport: Bus 15, 17, 20, 22 or 25 to Les Arènes/Musée