The Ernest F. Coe Visitor Center, 9 miles southwest of Homestead on State Road 9336, is located within Everglades National Park, on the right, just before the admission gate.
The visitor center is open 365 days a year, including Christmas. The center has a small bookstore that is a one-stop shop for Everglades books, postcards and DVDs. Most importantly, it sells insect repellent and it offers modern restrooms.
Besides educational displays, orientation films, and brochures, the center often features displays by local artists.
The center is named after Ernest F. Coe who created the Tropical Everglades National Park Association (later Everglades National Park Association) in 1928.
Known as the “father of the Everglades,” Coe worked for almost two decades to protect the area. His efforts paid off when President Harry Truman dedicated the park in 1947. Coe died at the age of 84 in 1951.
From the visitor center parking lot, turn right to reach the park’s toll booth and the Homestead main entrance. The Homestead section main entrance is open 24 hours a day, every day.