The Dufferin Terrace is the landmark promenade at the foot of the Château Frontenac that overlooks the St. Lawrence River.
The terrace has provided great river views, a place to soak up some sun, and people-watching at its best since 1879.
The terrace was named for Lord Dufferin who saw to the preservation of Quebec City’s walled fortifications.
In recent years the terrace has become a working archeological site, unearthing the remnants of the first Château St. Louis, the home where Samuel de Champlain lived until his death in 1635.
Artifacts found on the dig site date to the 1620s and include what archeologists believe to be Champlain’s living quarters.
A row of canons line the promenade. While most were manufactured in Britain — you can tell by the lettering on the side of the barrels — two of the canons are Russian-made models, probably souvenirs from the Crimean War.
These canons could fire their ammunition a distance of about one kilometer, easily attacking any potential threat well across the St. Lawrence River in Lévis a half kilometer away on the south shore.
The seasonal glissade ice slide provides winter thrills for about $2 a run.
Written by Steve Howell