Perched on a rocky outcrop in the Sound of Mull, Duart Castle has superb natural defences and fine views to match.
For over 700 years it acted as the seat of the then-powerful Clan Maclean. But after the Jacobite rebellions of 1745, the castle was confiscated and burnt down by the Campbells.
Later bought back by the Macleans, the castle was finally restored in 1911 but with very few concessions to modern luxury. This helped maintain the castle’s authenticity and its dungeons and ramparts are still stand-out features.
The Castle’s good cafe serves great homemade cakes.
The castle offers a shuttle bus from the Craignure Ferry Terminal.