From May 1858 until 1877, the Alcott family lived in this house in Concord, MA. Though they’d lived in the town before, in the nearby house now known as the Wayside, this home would be the place in Concord where they lived longest.
May 23, 1860, Anna Alcott married John Pratt in the Parlor. This parlor would also hold the audience when the sisters performed plays, using the dining room as their stage. These events loosely mirror the theatrical elements of Little Women.
That book was written in this house, in Louisa May Alcott’s bedroom, on a fold down desk, built by her father. Bronson Alcott also wrote many of his books in this house.
Also on the grounds, is a structure designed and built by Bronson Alcott, first called ‘The Hillside Chapel’ and later, ‘The Concord School of Philosophy’. It operated from 1879 to 1888 and was one of the first adult education centers in the country.