Eastern Germany

The Best 'not the Rest'

Save to my Account

Eastern Germany – the part of Germany that was formally the German Democratic Republic or GDR (German: Deutsche Demokratische Republik or DDR) – covers an area of 108,333 km² (41,828 sq mi). The territory includes the German states of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Berlin, Brandenburg, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia.

Between the Baltic See (with the islands of Rügen, Usedom, Hiddensee and the peninsula Fischland-Zingst) in the north and the mountains (e.g. Harz, Thuringian Forest, Rhön, Ore Mountains, the Elbe Sandstone Mountains) in the south Eastern Germany is certainly worth more than one visit to explore its lakes, forests and old towns.

We’re working on getting our content up here as soon as possible. Please check back.


You need to login to favorite a post.

Need to sign up? Create an account here.

Forgot your password? Reset your password here.